Schedules of Indian Constitution

The Constitution of India Has 12 Schedules of Indian Constitution, for the first time, schedules were introduced by the Government of India Act, 1935, which had 10 schedules. After independence, the Indian Constitution had contained 8 schedules only. Later, four more schedules were added by various amendments as under:

  1. The Ninth Schedule was added by the Constitution (First Amendment) Act, 1951.
  2. The tenth Schedule was added by the Constitution (Fifty-second Amendment) Act, 1985.
  3. The eleventh Schedule was added by the Constitution (Seventy-Third Amendment) Act, 1992.
  4. The Twelfth Schedule was added by the Constitution (Seventy Fourth Amendment) Act, 1992.

12 Schedules of Indian Constitution

S. No.ScheduleArticles Under the Schedule Contains Provisions relating to Schedules
1First ScheduleArticles 1 and  4 Name of the state and union territories and also territorial jurisdiction of States 
2Second ScheduleArticles: 59, 65, 75, 97, 125, 148, 158, 164, 186 & 221Allowances, privileges, and emoluments of:
President of India, Governors of Indian States, Speaker of Lok Sabha & Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha, Chairman of Rajya Sabha & Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha, Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Legislative Assemblies of Indian States, Chairman and Deputy Chairman of Legislative Councils of the Indian States, Supreme Court Judges, High Court Judges, Comptroller & Auditor General of India (CAG)
3 Third ScheduleArticles 75(4), 84,99, 124(6), 148(2),164(3), 173,188 and 219Forms of oath and affirmation of office for:
Union Ministers of India
Candidate for election to Parliament
Members of Parliament (MPs)
Judge of a Supreme Court
Comptroller and Auditor General
State Ministers
Candidate for election to the Legislature of a State
State Legislature Members
Judge of a High Court 
4Fourth ScheduleArticle 4 and Article 80Allocation of seats for States and Union Territories in the Council of States (Rajya Sabha)
5  Fifth ScheduleArticle 244Administration and Control of Scheduled Areas and Scheduled Tribes.
6  Sixth ScheduleArticle 244 and Article 275Administration of tribal areas in the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura, and Mizoram (AMTM)
7Seventh ScheduleArticle 246Classification of the law-making power of Centre and the states into three lists
1. Union List
2. State List
3. Concurrent List
8  Eighth ScheduleArticle 344 and Article 351The list of 22 scheduled Languages:
1. Assamese
2. Bengali
3. Bodo
4. Dogri (Dongri)
5. Gujarati
6. Hindi
7. Kannada
8. Kashmiri
9. Konkani
10. Mathili (Maithili)
11. Malayalam
12. Manipuri
13. Marathi
14. Nepali
15. Oriya
16. Punjabi
17. Sanskrit
18. Santhali
19. Sindhi
20. Tamil
21. Telugu
22. Urdu
9  Ninth ScheduleArticle 31-B Validation of certain Acts and Regulations.
10  Tenth ScheduleArticle 102 and Article 191Disqualification of the members of Parliament and State Legislatures on the ground of defection.
11  Eleventh ScheduleArticle 243-GPowers, authority, and responsibilities of Panchayats
12  Twelfth ScheduleArticle 243-WPowers, authority, and responsibilities of Municipal Corporations, Municipalities, etc.


You Can Follow on Youtube – Score Better

Read More Article of Indian Polity


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *